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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE 
ENGINEERING CERTIFICATE OF 

AUTHORIZATION APPLICATION FORM (10/23) 
 
 

Code Authority 
Mississippi Code 73-13-3 provides that as of 
January 1, 2005, a Certificate of Authorization 
shall be required by a corporation, firm or 
partnership offering engineering and/or surveying 
services in Mississippi. An individual licensee 
practicing in his own name as a sole 
proprietorship is not required to register under this 
section. 

The Law further provides that a corporation, firm, 
partnership, LLC or PLLC desiring a Certificate of 
Authority shall file with the Board an application 
furnishing the information required  under  
Section  73-13-43  and/or 73-13-105, and, if all 
the requirements are met, the Board shall issue to 
such corporation, firm or  partnership  a  
Certificate  of Authorization. Certificates of 
Authorization expire  on  December 31 of each 
year and may be renewed annually. 

 
Fees 
Effective October 1, 2023, the application and/or 
relicensure fee for a Certificate of Authorization 
has been set by the Board at $200.00. A check 
(personal or cashier’s) or money order in the 

Requirements 
The corporation, firm, partnership, LLC or PLLC 
should be familiar with Sections 73-13-3 and 73-
13-43 and/or 73-13-105 of the Mississippi Code 
as well as the Code of Professional Conduct 
regarding the requirements for Certificate of 
Authorization and the responsibilities of an 
engineering/surveying firm in the State of 
Mississippi. 

The individual licensees acting as agents, 
employees, officers, partners of corporations, 
firms, or partnerships should be familiar with 
Sections 73-13-3 and 73-13-43 and/or 73-13-105 
of the Mississippi Code as well as the Code of 
Professional Conduct regarding the requirements 
for Certificate of Authorization and the 
responsibilities of an engineering/surveying firm 
in the State of Mississippi. 

 
Biennial Renewal 
Certificates of Authorization expire on December 
31 and shall be renewed annually. It shall be 
unlawful for a corporation, firm or partnership to 
practice, offer to practice, or hold itself out as 
qualified to practice engineering/surveying 
following the expiration 

amount of $200.00 must accompany 
application form. No cash shall be accepted. 

the of said Certificate of Authorization. After a lapse 
of more than six months, an application for 
Relicensure shall be required. 

The application and check should be mailed to: 

Mississippi Board of Licensure for 
Professional Engineers & Surveyors 
455 North Lamar Street, Suite 208 
Jackson, MS 39202 

 
If you send your application by another means, 
please give the delivery company our phone 
number, which is 601-359-6160. 

In the event there is a change in any of the persons 
listed during the year, such changes shall be 
designated on the same application form and filed 
with the Board by the corporation, firm, or 
partnership within thirty (30) days after the 
effective date of such changes. No fee shall be 
charged for filing this amended form. 

(continued on next page) 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE 
ENGINEERING CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORIZATION 

APPLICATION FORM 

Note: The application cannot be processed until the licensee who signs under item 3 is currently 
licensed in Mississippi. Furthermore, a Professional Engineer who renders occasional, part-time, or 
consulting engineering services to a corporation, firm, partnership, LLC or PLLC may not be 
designated as being responsible for the professional activities of the firm. APPLICATIONS 
MUST BE TYPED, USING YOUR COMPUTER OR A TYPEWRITER; HANDWRITTEN 
APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED FOR PROCESSING. 

 

Question 1:  Furnish name of business, address, and 
telephone number of principal office. 

 
Question 2: Indicate type of business, whether 
engineering or surveying. A separate COA is required 
for each service. 

 
 

Question 3: Identify which Professional Engineer, 
currently licensed in Mississippi, has been designated 
by your corporation, firm or partnership as the 
Principal Engineer, or acting on behalf of your 
corporation or firm. Note the definition of Principal 
Engineer. 

The application must be signed by the designated 
Mississippi Principal PE. The designated licensee 
must respond to the questions regarding previous 
disciplinary actions, felony convictions, and nolo 
contendere pleas, and should attach explanations and 
copies of orders as appropriate. Be sure to include 
proof that all stipulations of disciplinary orders or legal 
convictions have been met. 

If you are not applying for an initial (first time) COA 
but instead you are submitting an amended COA 
application to renew it for another year, the designated 
licensee only needs to report any disciplinary actions, 
felony convictions and nolo contendere pleas that have 
occurred since the firm’s last annual renewal. 

 
 

Question 4: List the names and titles of all primary 
officers. List the Mississippi License Numbers where 
applicable. Primary Officers shall be defined as 
President, Vice-President and Secretary. The 
Designating Authority signature may be left 
blank if the Principal Engineer whose signature 
appears in item 3 is also a primary officer of the 
corporation or firm. 

If not, a primary officer of the  corporation/ firm   
must   approve   the   designation of the 
Mississippi licensee as Principal Engineer. 

Completion of this question is not required of a 
partnership. 

 
 

Question 5: List all partners. List Mississippi PE 
License Numbers where applicable. The Designating 
Authority signature may be left blank if the 
Principal Engineer whose signature appears in item 3 
is also a partner of the partnership. If not, a partner 
must approve the designation of the Mississippi 
licensee as Principal Engineer. 

 
Completion of this question is not required of a firm or 
corporation. 

 
 

 
Supplemental sheets may be submitted if 
additional space is required in answering 

certain questions. 
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Mississippi Board of Licensure 
for Professional Engineers and Surveyors 

455 North Lamar Street, Ste 208 
Jackson, MS 39202 

(601) 359-6160 
www.pepls.ms.gov 

ENGINEERING 
CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY 

Application Form 

Received:   
 

Fee:   
 

COA NO.: E 
 

Date Issued:   

Fee Schedule: 
Original/Relicensure Fee $200.00 
Renewal Fees $100 online; 

 
Amended Application - no fee due 

This □ original □ relicensure □ amended □ renewal application is hereby made for authorization 
to offer Engineering Services in the State of Mississippi as a: 

□ Corporation □ Firm □ Partnership □ Professional Association □ LLC □ LLP □ Other 

1. Name of Business:  

Mailing Address of principal office:    

 

Phone: ( ) - Email: __________________________________________ 

2.  Type of services offered :  □ Engineering □ Other (Please specify)   

(If you offer surveying services, a separate certificate of authority is required under Title 73, Chapter 13, Mississippi Code of 
1972. Forms are available on the website.) 

 
Please furnish the Mississippi Surveying COA number, if offering surveying services: COA S-  

 
3. Designated Principal Engineer:  Title:  

(This must be a currently licensed Mississippi Professional Engineer* who is an employee and who has been 
designated by the firm, corporation, or partnership as a Principal Engineer acting on behalf of the firm, 
corporation, or partnership and should be a full-time employee. The Board considers a Principal Engineer to 
be a senior technical employee who is a licensed Professional Engineer and who makes significant technical 
and/or contractual judgments on behalf of the firm which would affect the firm’s professional reputation and 
liability.) 

As the designated Mississippi Professional Engineer Principal, I am currently in good standing with the 
Board. I further certify by my signature that the information contained in this form is correct. 

 
 

Signature of designated Mississippi PE Principal Miss. PE Lic. No. Date 

Have you ever been disciplined by any state licensing authority ?   ** 
Have you been convicted of a felony OR pleaded “nolo contendere” to a criminal charge?  ** 
** If you answered ‘yes’, explain on a separate sheet and label: Addendum. 

http://www.pepls.ms.gov/
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4. Firms or Corporations: List all primary officers below. 
Name Title Address PE Lic. # in Miss. 

 

 

 

 

 

Designating Authority: I hereby designate the Mississippi Professional Engineer whose signature appears 
in item # 3 as the corporation’s/firm’s Principal Engineer. (To be completed only if the designated Principal 
Engineer is not a primary officer of the corporation or firm.) 

 
 

Name of Officer Signature of Officer Date 

5. Partnerships: List all partners below. 

Name Title Address PE Lic. # in Miss. 
 
 

 

 

 

 

Designating Authority: I hereby designate the Mississippi Professional Engineer whose signature 
appears in item # 3 as the partnership’s Principal Engineer. (To be completed only if the designated 
Principal Engineer is not a partner of the partnership.) 

 
Signature of Partner Name of Partner Date 

 
 

 
* Mississippi statute 73-13-43 states that an engineer who renders 
occasional, part-time or consulting engineering services to or for a 
corporation, firm or partnership may not be designated as being 

responsible for the professional activities of the firm. 
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